Great Food Documentaries On Netflix

There are a lot of food documentaries out there with tons of information on everything from getting the inside scoop on some of your favorite chefs around the world to how the food industry works for the good and for the bad. I recently got Netflix and have been watching some of the food related documentaries they offer. The ones I’ve seen have been inspiring and informative. So today I will give you a brief over-view and an opinion or two on the three I have watch thus far. Have a great day and happy watching/eating!

 

Image

Jiro Dreams of Sushi

The first thing I want to say about Jiro is that he is one of my heroes. His work ethic is amazing and transferable to any occupation. And he has the age, success and wisdom to back it all up. Even a tattoo artist friend of mine got inspired for his own artistry by listening to what Jiro had to say about basically putting your head down and just working hard at something you love. Not only is this documentary inspirational on a professional level, but you should watch it just before dinner so you can rush out immediately after to your nearest sushi bar. Your stomach will be aching for sushi after watching Jiro and his sons make the most delectable nigiri for 82 minutes! This is a MUST SEE!!

 

Image

Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead

This Documentary is another great one. This guy Joe Cross embarks on a quest to better his failing health and inspire others to do the same. He starts out over-weight with many health issues. He is taking a lot of meds for various problems like skin issues and high blood-pressure. When he starts juicing, his quest for a juicing revolution begins. He looses massive amounts of weight, gets off his meds and looks amazing! After his success, he gets a few people to go on a juicing fast of their own to better their health. When you see the difference juicing makes on everyone in the film, you immediately go out and buy a juicer and truck loads of kale the next day. This movie is so great that it almost brought me to tears the first time I saw it. Another MUST SEE!

 

Image

Hungry for Change

Hungry for Change is a good eye-opener on the commercial food industry and how it is really geared to making people fatter and capitalizing on that. All the processed foods and fad diets are making people addicted to foods that are actually detrimental to one’s health instead of being what food should traditionally be, something to give you nutrients to live. This documentary really puts into perspective the scams being done by the food industry and the ignorance of most consumers. It will make you angry and disgusted but will change the way you think about the food you buy for the better. One more MUST SEE!

If you have any other great food documentaries, please share!!

Happy watching and enjoy!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Great Food Documentaries On Netflix

  1. storiesformymom March 2, 2013 at 12:52 am Reply

    Thank you so much for following my blog. I get truly excited when my small audience grows 🙂 Thanks for the blog support

  2. Monte March 2, 2013 at 3:22 am Reply

    I thought Jiro was pretty good. I saw fat, sick, and nearly dead per your recommendation and thought it was merely ok – I don’t think his juice diet is as miraculous as portrayed. I heard Paul Liebrandt has a documentary about Corton but have yet to see it. I really want to though!

  3. Laura March 4, 2013 at 7:15 pm Reply

    I have something to add! I saw the French documentary about a famous chef last summer and loved it – Entre les Bras. Made me want to move to France! Even tho some of his concoctions were a little over the top, sculpturally speaking. Thanks for following my blog, and I look forward to sharing here too, as food and nutrition are a big interest of mind. Speaking of which… check out Omnivore’s Dilemma and Fast Food Nation if you have time to read… they are great. xLaura

  4. […] Great Food Documentaries On Netflix. […]

  5. chaseitorbchased March 8, 2013 at 3:51 pm Reply

    Jiro dreams of sushi is a great movie! I would like to go to Tokyo and try his sushis. Jiro made me dream.

  6. Marge March 16, 2013 at 2:13 am Reply

    There is a free online screening next week for “Hungry for Change” plus Take Action videos, detox recipes and Q&A session at http://www.hungryforchange.tv/free-worldwide-online-screening.

    I just watched “Food Matters” today and found more documentaries available on this site: http://documentarylovers.net/food-matters/

  7. gingerskeeper March 16, 2013 at 3:28 am Reply

    Thanks for the recommendations! I love those Netflix documentaries. They are so inspirational and help inspire and remind me to live well. I loved Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead, but I haven’t tried juicing yet. Maybe after I’m done nursing my little one I’ll give it a go. It sounds like such a healthy thing to do.

Leave a Reply

